Battle of the Sexes

PG (Mild themes and infrequent coarse language)
James Erskine and Zara Hayes, 83 mins, UK, 2013, DCP, B&W and Colour. Source: Madman Entertainment.

Battle of the Sexes
Battle of the Sexes
Play Trailer premiere


One man. One woman. One hell of a tennis match.

In 1973 Billie Jean King played former Grand Slam Champion, and self-proclaimed male chauvinist pig, Bobby Riggs in the most watched tennis match in history. The prize money was high but the stakes for the future of women's tennis and gender equality were the real prize.

On learning that her male counterparts were paid greater prize money for matches, King singlehandedly spearheaded a campaign to form the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) demanding equal pay for play. As an athlete at the top of her game - one who was also struggling with her sexuality - the personal and professional stakes were enormous at every stage of her campaign.

Incorporating rich archival footage alongside interviews with tennis players past and present, Erskine and Hayes never lose sight of the main subject - crafting King's story with a great deal of verve and suspense.

Billie Jean King looms large within the frame as an uncompromising and brave individual. More than just a tennis champion she was a woman motivated by the social milieu of change and a defiant sense of justice.

"The transformative power of sport at its finest, and the passion of one woman determined to help in the fight for a more just society." - Empire Magazine


* The WTA presents an exclusive discussion with Judy Dalton, former Grand Slam Champion and one of the founding members of the WTA, following the 7.30pm screening on Friday 17 January.

Dates  

Fri 10 Jan 2014, 7pm

Mon 13 Jan 2014, 4.30pm

Tue 14 Jan 2014, 7.30pm

Wed 15 Jan 2014, 2.30pm, 4.30pm, 8.30pm

Thu 16 Jan 2014, 2.30pm, 4.30pm, 8.30pm

Fri 17 Jan 2014, 1.30pm, 7.30pm + Q&A*

Sat 18 Jan 2014, 7pm, 9pm

Sun 19 Jan 2014, 4.30pm, 8.30pm

Mon 20 Jan 2014, 4.30pm, 6.30pm, 8.30pm

Tue 21 Jan 2014, 6.30pm, 8.30pm

Wed 22 Jan 2014, 1.30pm, 4.30pm, 7pm

Thu 23 Jan 2014, 1.30pm, 4.30pm, 6.30pm, 8.30pm

Fri 24 Jan 2014, 1.30pm, 4.30pm, 6.30pm, 8.30pm

Sat 25 Jan 2014, 4.30pm, 6.30pm, 8.30pm

Sun 26 Jan 2014, 3.30pm, 5.30pm, 7.30pm

Mon 27 Jan 2014, 1.30pm, 3.30pm, 5.30pm, 7.30pm

Fri 31 Jan 2014, 5pm, 7pm, 9pm

Sat 1 Feb 2014, 4.30pm, 9pm

Sun 2 Feb 2014, 3.30pm, 8pm

Mon 3 Feb 2014, 8.45pm

Wed 5 Feb 2014, 1.30pm, 6pm

Thu 6 Feb 2014, 2.30pm, 8.45pm

Fri 7 Feb 2014, 9.30pm

Mon 10 Feb 2014, 7.30pm

Tue 11 Feb 2014, 7.30pm

Wed 12 Feb 2014, 5.30pm

Thu 13 Feb 2014, 5.30pm

    No Longer Available
 
 
Facebook icon   Twitter icon   Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Site Map   Share and Print   Victorian Government Website