Eames: The Architect and The Painter

M
Jason Cohn, Bill Jersey, 84 mins, USA, 2011, Digital Betacam, Black & White and Colour. Courtesy: Madman Entertainment.

Eames: The Architect and The Painter
Eames: The Architect and The Painter

James Franco narrates this engaging story of master Modernists, Ray and Charles Eames, whose designs reshaped post-war America.

Directors Jason Cohn and Bill Jersey make clever use of the abundant Eames archive and dive into the heart of their dream factory in Venice, California, offering viewers a deeply personal vision of the couple and their artistic philosophy.

Play Trailer premiere


Former employees, friends and commentators further shape the story that charts their humble beginnings making low-cost functional furniture and medical aids for Navy servicemen, through to their grandiose creative endeavours for clients such as IBM, Polaroid, The New York and Moscow World Fairs.

A frenetic, joyous celebration of creativity and invention, Eames: The Architect & The Painter offers a fitting tribute to the legacy of Ray and Charles themselves.

Curated by Kristy Matheson

"Much like the creations of its subjects, 'Eames' is itself a dazzling, sensory adventure" - Seattle Times
Dates  

Fri 1 Jun 2012, 6.45pm, 8.30pm

Sat 2 Jun 2012, 3.15pm, 5.15pm, 7.15pm

Sun 3 Jun 2012, 4.15pm, 6pm

Mon 4 Jun 2012, 6.45pm

Thu 7 Jun 2012, 6.45pm, 8.30pm

Fri 8 Jun 2012, 6.45pm

Sat 9 Jun 2012, 5.15pm, 7.15pm

Sun 10 Jun 2012, 3.15pm, 5.15pm, 7.15pm

Mon 11 Jun 2012, 6.45pm

Tue 12 Jun 2012, 6.45pm

Wed 13 Jun 2012, 6.45pm

Thu 14 Jun 2012, 6.45pm, 8.30pm

Fri 15 Jun 2012, 6.45pm, 8.30pm

Sat 16 Jun 2012, 3.15pm, 5.15pm

Sun 17 Jun 2012, 3.15pm, 5.15pm, 7.15pm

    No Longer Available
 
 
Facebook icon   Twitter icon   Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Site Map   Share and Print   Victorian Government Website