The Interrupters

M
Steve James, 125 mins, USA, 2011, Digital Betacam. Source: Kartemquin Films. Courtesy: Kartemquin Films.

The Interrupters
The Interrupters

Seventeen years after the outstanding documentary Hoop Dreams, director Steve James gifts audiences with another signature long-form observational film.

Chicago is a city drowning under the tide of youth crime - 2009 saw more casualties on Chicago streets than US military losses in Iraq and Afghanistan. Surmising that violence spreads like a disease, CeaseFire is an organisation working outside the law and
Play Trailer premiere
lawmakers to interrupt violence - in the moment and on the street.

Ameena, Cobe and Eddie are 'violence interrupters'. Like their CeaseFire comrades, they come from gangland and prison royalty - as one interrupter points out, "We have over 500 years of prison time at this table. Man that's a lot of wisdom". With an unending belief in their communities, they listen and educate at flashpoint without judgment or fear.

James' unobtrusive camera offers an intimacy with the subjects and an immersive experience that is unshakable; The Interrupters is an absorbing investigation of a modern society shot at street level.

"It's as compelling as The Wire and it's all true" - Sight & Sound Magazine

Dates   Sun 15 Jan 2012, 3pm, 8pm

Mon 16 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Tue 17 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Wed 18 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Thu 19 Jan 2012, 6.45pm, 9pm

Fri 20 Jan 2012, 6.45pm, 9pm

Sat 21 Jan 2012, 2.30pm, 5pm, 7.15pm

Sun 22 Jan 2012, 5pm, 7.15pm

Mon 23 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Tue 24 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Wed 25 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Thu 26 Jan 2012, 6.45pm, 9pm

Fri 27 Jan 2012, 6.45pm, 9pm

Sat 28 Jan 2012, 2.30pm, 5pm, 7.15pm

Sun 29 Jan 2012, 2.30pm, 5pm, 7.15pm

Mon 30 Jan 2012, 6.45pm

Tue 31 Jan 2012, 3pm, 6.45pm

Wed 1 Feb 2012, 6.45pm

Fri 3 Feb 2012, 6.45pm

Sat 4 Feb 2012, 2.30pm, 5pm, 7.15pm

Sun 5 Feb 2012, 5.45pm, 8pm

    No Longer Available
 
 
Facebook icon   Twitter icon   Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Site Map   Share and Print   Victorian Government Website