click to toggle flash on or off


ACMI Board

The Film Act 2001 empowers the Board to promote ACMI as a national centre for the creation and exhibition of the moving image, to develop and make available collections and to conduct research and public education in the moving image. 

The members of the ACMI Board are: 

Peter Lewinsky Peter Lewinsky (President - Acting) has conducted an advisory practice over the last 20 years, providing strategic, financial and governance advice to a wide range of public and private companies and government. He is an experienced government, not-for-profit and private sector company director and has chaired a number of Audit Committees. Prior to commencing his practice, Peter, a qualified Chartered Accountant, worked for investment banks and stockbroking firms in Australia and overseas.
Photo of Annette Allison Annette Allison has had a lifelong involvement as a Logie-winning journalist, presenter and producer of television across Australia and has regularly presented high rating radio current affairs programs in both Brisbane and Melbourne. She was also a filmmaker and director of Queensland-based Martin Williams Films and Documentaries, which produced content for Australian commercial broadcasters and on-sold internationally. Annette has served on a number of not-for-profit boards including the Victoria State Opera board and Opera Australia and she travels extensively through the outback in her current role as Public Affairs Manager for the Royal Flying Doctor Service.
Jan Chapman Jan Chapman (AO) has produced some of Australia's most critically successful and popular films including Bright Star, Lantana and The Piano and supported and nurtured the careers of some of its most talented filmmakers as executive producer and producer. Her films have won many awards including co-recipient of the Palme d'Or at Cannes, three Academy Awards, Camera d'Or at Cannes and over 35 Australian Film Institute Awards.

Des Clark has extensive experience in policy development, governance and management. Des was Director of the Classification Board from 2000 to 2007. He was Deputy Chairman of the Australian Film Commission and Chairman of the Melbourne International Film Festival. Elected Lord Mayor of the City of Melbourne (1992 - 1993 ) he served three terms as a Councillor, where he was able to focus on cultural development. He worked on the restructure of Local Government in Victoria as Chairman of Commissioners at the City of Port Phillip where his management experience and community based skills were successfully utilised.
Sebastian Costello Sebastian Costello is a commercial television and radio broadcaster. His face will be familiar to viewers of Nine News in Melbourne where he is a reporter, and his voice is regularly heard by listeners of 3AW where he is a commentator on the station's football team. Seb's work has been recognised by the Australian Commercial Radio Association and the Melbourne Press Club.
Joel Pearlman Joel Pearlman is the Managing Director of Roadshow Films, a division of Village Roadshow Limited, where he has overseen the distribution of titles such as the Lord of the Rings and The Matrix trilogies, and is responsible for Roadshow's Australian production division. He is also currently on the board of the Melbourne International Film Festival and the Motion Picture Distributors Association of Australia.
Andrew Ranger Andrew Ranger is an entrepreneur specialising in the digital and marketing services realm. Having experienced success in the Melbourne marketing industry at The Taboo Group, Andrew went on to become the founder of the online brand development agency, which is now working with clients across three continents. Andrew is the co-creator of the app, designed to create legally binding term agreements using the iPhone's reverse camera and facial recognition technology. Andrew has a keen interest in social activism and working on projects in the Internet start-up space.
Ricci Swart Ricci Swart is the Founder of Ricci Swart Multimedia. Ricci has 20 years experience in film and multimedia development and production, and extensive experience in both the philanthropic and education sectors.
Michael Wachtel Michael Wachtel is the Chairman (Asia Pacific) of Ernst & Young, and is a member of the Ernst & Young Global Advisory Council. He is a member of the Ernst & Young Global Tax Leadership team and is the Global Leader for Quality & Risk in their Tax Practice. He has been an adviser to Australia's leading multinationals and high net worth families for over 25 years.

Michael co-authored the White Paper commissioned by the Business Council of Australia, titled Removing Tax Barriers to International Growth (2001); and was the first person to author books on Australia's CFC and Foreign Investment Fund regimes. Michael has been consistently listed as one of Australia's leading tax advisers in various surveys, (e.g. Euromoney's Worldwide Tax Surveys, World's Leading Tax Lawyers, Asia Law's Leading Lawyers, and International Who's Who of Corporate Tax Lawyers). He is Past President of the Australian Chapter of the International Fiscal Association and a member of the Tax Advisory Board of the Melbourne University Law Faculty.
Lorraine Elliot (AM) Lorraine Elliott (AM) (President July 2013 - July 2014) Our sincere condolences to the family our Board President, Lorraine Elliott, who sadly passed away after a short illness in July 2014. Lorraine had a long and distinguished commitment to education, public service, the arts, community development and disability services. Starting her career as a secondary teacher, Lorraine entered the Victorian Parliament in 1992, holding several roles within government and opposition. She served over many years as board member or director on cultural, not-for-profit and public sector organisations.
Facebook icon   Twitter icon   Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Site Map   Share and Print   Victorian Government Website