The Warriors (2017)

Scroll to content

“...follow[s] four mischievous footballers experiencing the highs, lows and often funny situations of life as an elite athlete”

Penny Smallacombe, Head of Indigenous at Screen Australia

About the screening

Join us for the highly anticipated world premiere of the ABC Indigenous comedy-drama series with an introduction by members of the cast, crew and key creators. 

The landmark Australian television project about a nation’s sporting obsession with a game that Indigenous players continue to triumph in, The Warriors has been written and directed by some of the country’s finest Indigenous talent including Jon Bell (Cleverman), Tony Briggs (The Sapphires), Beck Cole (Here I Am), Adrian Russell Wills (Redfern Now), Catriona McKenzie (Satellite Boy), Steven McGregor (Croker Island Exodus, Redfern Now) and exciting newcomer Tracey Rigney.

Created by Briggs and Robert Connolly (Paper Planes, Barracuda), the provocative 8-part Indigenous comedy drama series explores the elite world of professional sport through the eyes of two Australian Rules football recruits and two experienced players thrown together in a share house in Melbourne. With temptation at every turn, there’s no guarantee these young men will run through the banner for the first game of the season.

After a nationwide casting search, 18 year old Gordon Churchill makes his acting debut as Maki, the number one draft pick. The series also introduces WAAPA graduate Nelson Baker as Zane. Comedian Ben Knight is Scottie, the world’s oldest Aussie Rules rookie and Reece Milne (Home and Away) is Doc, the seasoned team captain charged with showing the rookies the ropes.

Lisa McCune features as the team’s Communications Manager Deb Van Exel with Vince Colosimo as Coach Mark ‘Spinner’ Spinotti. Club president and footy legend Bill Shepherd is played by John Howard, returning to the world of Australian Rules Football after starring in the ‘80s classic The Club.

The Warriors is produced by the Indigenous Department/Screen Australia, ABC, Film Victoria, entertainment One and arenamedia.